The duplicate account can be deleted or marked as inactive in order to keep the account for historical reasons. When an account is marked as inactive, journal entries cannot be manually added to the account.
To mark an account as inactive
If you want to delete the account, there are a few steps that must be completed before deletion is possible.
Before an account can be deleted from the chart of accounts
To delete an account from the chart of accounts