Feature Article: Tabs3 Software Security Features

October 2019    Tags: , , , , ,

You access sensitive client information on a daily basis, and may even have access to information that others in the firm do not. You know that maintaining client confidentiality is crucial, but who might have access to all of that data? The following features are built into the software, helping maintain client security and confidentiality.

  1. Assign users to Access Profiles. Access Profiles (System Configuration | File | Open | Access Profile) are used to control which users have access to which features in the software. For example, you can set up an Access Profile to allow for browsing clients, but not changing or deleting clients. You can also specify that an Access Profile not allow access to reports, certain utilities, or an entire system, such as General Ledger Software (GLS). Once Access Profiles have been set up, they can be assigned to users via the Users file (System Configuration | File | Open | Users). Each user can be assigned up to five Access Profiles.
  2. Assign Timekeepers to User IDs. Users who only need to see information for specific timekeepers can be restricted to accessing only those timekeepers. The Assign Tabs3/PracticeMaster Timekeeper option in the Users file (System Configuration | File | Open | Users) provides the ability to specify which timekeepers’ information a user can access. Users can add, change, and delete fee and cost transactions that are work-in-process; access archived transactions; and access productivity figures only for the selected timekeeper(s).
  3. Use Secure Clients. Access to client information can be specified at the client level. By selecting the Secure Client check box (File | Open | Client | Address tab), you can then select which users in the software have access to the specified client’s information including transactions, reports, and statements. Additionally, when you select the Secure Client check box, you will be prompted to either keep or remove related contacts from the Contact file. This is because only clients can be marked as secure, not contacts.
  4. Delete the (BLANK) user or assign it a password. The (BLANK) user is meant for initial access to the software when it is first installed. After users are set up in the software, we recommend deleting or assigning a password to this user in order for access to the software to be password protected.
  5. Platinum SQL Data Encryption. The Platinum SQL Data Encryption utility is used to encrypt Tabs3 and PracticeMaster data files that may contain sensitive information. Once data files are encrypted, they can only be read by the Tabs3 and PracticeMaster Platinum SQL software. Software can be encrypted via the Platinum | Data Encryption menu option in System Configuration.
  6. Platinum Data Security. Firms running a Platinum system can limit each user’s network access to the data files to the “read only” level, providing protection against the accidental moving or deleting of data files via Windows Explorer. In order to secure the Database folder, your system administrator will need to manually configure the Windows file sharing settings for that folder to ensure that only authorized users have Full Access rights.

For more information on these features, as well as more security features, see Knowledge Base Article R11717, “Security Resources.”

How helpful was this article? Rate it above.
Please wait...
Share or Print this Article

« PREV


Leave a Comment